Steering Committee


The UGICR has a Steering Committee of experts who assist with making strategic decisions for the project and provide guidance to the operational team.
The Steering Committee is also responsible for assessing external applications for data from the registry.


Prof John Zalcberg

Head, Cancer Research Program, SPHPM, Monash University
Tony Charlton Chair of Oncology, Alfred Health
Medical Oncology
Affiliation(s): Monash University, Alfred Health


Mr Dan Croagh

Hepatopancreatobiliary Working Party Clinical

Hepatopancreatobiliary surgery
Affiliation(s): Monash Health, Monash University, Epworth HealthCare

Prof Wendy Brown

Oesophagogastric Working Party Clinical Lead
President, Australian and New Zealand Gastric and Oesophageal Surgery Association
Upper gastrointestinal surgery
Affiliation(s): Monash University, Alfred Health

Mrs Jan Gibson

Consumer representative

Mr David Attwood

Consumer representative

A/Prof Mehrdad Nikfarjam

Hepatopancreatobiliary surgery
Affiliation(s): Austin Health, Warringal Private Hospital, University of Melbourne


Prof Trevor Leong

Radiation oncology
Affiliation(s): Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Monash University, University of Melbourne

Prof James Kench

Affiliation(s): Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, University of Sydney

A/Prof Lara Lipton

Medical oncology
Affiliation(s): Western Health, Royal Melbourne Hospital, Cabrini Health, University of Melbourne


Ms Kathryn Whitfield

Cancer Strategy and Development
Affiliation(s): Department of Health and Human Services, Victoria


Mr Barry Westhorpe

Chief Executive Officer
Affiliation(s): Pancare Foundation

Ms Helen Farrugia

Director of Victorian Cancer Registry
Affiliation(s): Cancer Council Victoria

A/Prof Sue Evans

Head, Clinical Registry Unit, SPHPM, Monash University
Epidemiology/Clinical quality registries
Affiliation(s): Monash University

Prof John McNeil

Head, School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine and Department of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Monash University
Affiliation(s): Monash University